After a week of rigorous judging, the results of the 2017 Royal Adelaide Wine Show are finally in – and South Australia has proven its claim as one of the great wine producing regions of the world.

South Australian producers dominated the trophy tally, with 15 of the 25 trophies awarded to the home State at this morning’s presentation ceremony at the Adelaide Showground.

McLaren Vale’s Shingleback Wine has won the coveted Max Schubert Trophy for Most Outstanding Red Wine in Show with their 2016 Red Knot Grenache Shiraz Mourvedre.

Furthermore, Shingleback also took home the Tilbrook Rasheed Trophy for Best Grenache or Grenache Blend, the Montgomery Trophy for Best Red Wine Under $20 and the Radoux Australia Trophy for Best Other Red Blend, for their 2016 Local Heroes Shiraz Grenache.

Chairman of judges Michael Brajkovich MW said the judging team evaluated 2,647 wines over four days, and highlighted the outstanding quality of Australian wine.

“We are fortunate to have a very talented team of judges from a wide range of backgrounds associated with the wine trade, and they have maintained the judging standards of this Show to the very highest level,” Mr Brajkovich said.

“Shiraz remains the largest varietal category in the Wine Show, with an ever-increasing range of regional and stylistic interpretations across all the vintages, from bright young wines to classically aged beauties. Cabernet Sauvignon, and blends based on it, have performed very well this year, especially from the 2015 vintage, as have the Grenache and Grenache blends which were vibrant, textural and very impressive.

“South Australian grown wines also shone in the Provenance section, with Coonawarra’s Lindemans taking home the Most Outstanding Wine of Provenance, for their (2015, 2010, 2005) Limestone Ridge Shiraz Cabernet.

“The 2016 Chardonnay class was very large this year, and were widely divergent in both style and quality, with Evans & Tate from Margaret River, WA awarded the trophy for Best Chardonnay and the George Fairbrother Memorial for Best White Wine in Show.”

Four wine producers received back-to-back honours in the same classes in 2016 and 2017 - Yalumba (Best Shiraz), Tyrells (Best Semillon), d’Arenberg (Best Sweet White Table Wine) and St Agnes (Best Brandy).

Members of the public can sample the trophy winning wines tonight at Taste of the Best – the Royal Adelaide Wine Show Public Tasting. For details visit

For more information:
Andrew Hardy, Chairman – Royal Adelaide Wine Show, ph: 0419 677 239
Kirrilee Hay, RA&HS, ph: 0499 773 512 OR Michelle Hocking, RA&HS, ph: 0419 185 314

Download Full Media Release and Listing of Trophies

Any media enquiries can be directed to:

Kirrilee Hay, Marketing Coordinator
Royal Adelaide Wine Show
08 8210 5211